My Current Fall TV Schedule

(For those listening on the Odiogo podcast feed you might want to just read this post on the website instead. I don’t know how it will play.)

Now that that the networks have released their fall schedules (http://www.thefutoncritic.com/guide.aspx?id=fall_2009), I can now make some tentative plans on what I’ll watch in the fall. These are tentative because it will all depend upon any changes the networks make in their programming. It’s also dependant upon what new shows catch my interest.

I’m just listing the prime-time shows. I’m so use to watching The Tonight Show at 11:35pm, but after watching Leno at 10pm–which I might tape and watch after 11pm–I don’t know if I’ll want to bother with Conan.

Monday

Since I’ve decided to drop Heroes I’ll probably skip it this year, however I will watch Chuck when it returns. I’ll also check out Trauma, but I’m not going to stick with it if it’s just another ER. With the possible exception of Bones, which is more a crime drama, I’ve had my fill of medical dramas for a while. At ten I’ll watch Leno.

Tuesday

I started watching JAG part way through the first season and I watched it until it finished. That got me into NCIS and I’ll probably watch it and it’s spinoff series from 8pm until 10pm. Since none of the new shows at 10pm interest me, I’ll likely watch Leno at 10pm.

Wednesday

Nothing at 8pm or 9pm interest me, although I am interested in Human Target when it starts after Christmas. I’m also curious about Eastwick which airs at 10pm. If I like it then I’ll watch that, otherwise I’ll just watch Leno.

Thursday

As I’ve said before, I’m a fan of Bones and it seems that I’ll have it for another two years at least. So that’s what I’ll be watching at 8pm. I’ve generally lost interest in Supernatural, although I would like to check out the season premiere to see where they plan to take the season. However Fringe is also on at that time. While both shows are marginal for me, I have been warming more to Fringe. It seems my decision to pick it over Eleventh Hour was the right one. I also like The Mentalist so I’ll most likely watch that at 10pm. There is some chance of taping other shows. This appears to be the busiest night for me.

Friday

This really, really, really is suppose to be the last season of Smallville. And aside from Leno it’s about the only thing on that night of any interest to me. But lately I’ve been watching a lot of recorded stuff on Fridays so I’ll just tape Smallville and watch it sometime over the weekend. If I’m not feeling up to watching anything recorded at 10pm I’ll watch Leno.

Neither Saturday nor Sunday holds any shows of interest to me, so I’ll be watching recording those evenings if I’m not busy with something else.

Of course this schedule is really about shows I’d like to catch and since I record almost all the shows I watch, it doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ll be watching them at those times.

Excluding Leno, which I don’t have to watch and will most likely just watch when it’s convenient, I’m looking at about five to nine shows. This is a comfortable level and about half of what I was watching this past year. I’ve also got a lot of stuff recorded to catch up on, so I don’t mind the spare time. Although there could be as many as four or five hours of Leno on top of that. Still, I have a feeling it could seem sparse after this past year and the desert of summer broadcasting.

My Toystore: http://patrickjmcnamara.webs.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment